Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Democrats Take Control Of The Wisconsin State Senate

John W. Lehman

Democrats take control of State Senate as Lehman (D) defeats incumbent Wanggaard (R) and Republican Governor Scott Walker and Lt. Governor Rebecca Kleefisch survived the Recall Election of 2012.

By H. Nelson Goodson
June 6, 2012

Madison - On Tuesday, the Democrats took control of the State Senate after former State Senator John W. Lehman regained his seat by defeating the incumbent Van Wanggaard who served briefly and didn't finish a four year term in the senate. Lehman (D), received 36,255 votes, 51% and incumbent Senator Van Wanggaard (R), got 35,476 votes, 49% of 100% precincts reporting in Senate District 21. With Lehman's victory, the senate control now shifts to the Democrats by 17-16 seats, which will make it difficult for Republicans and Governor Scott Walker (R) to continue with their agenda without bipartisan support.
Democrats in the past recall elections have gained three seats by successfully electing Jen Shilling, Jessica King, including Lehman to reclaim the State Senate.
In 2011, Wanggaard defeated Lehman who served as a state senator from 2007 through 2011. Lehman who regained his seat again says, that Wanggaard has yet to concede and he hasn't received a call from Wanggaard to congratulate him either. Wanggaard lost by 800 votes and less than 600 absentee ballots have yet to be counted, but it doesn't look good for Wanggaard of regaining his seat. Wanggaard hasn't decided, if he will call for a recount.
Other unofficial results, both Republican Governor Scott Walker and Lt. Governor Rebecca Kleefisch were re-elected by a majority of Wisconsin voters in the historic recall election. Governor Scott Walker (R), received 1,334,430 votes or 53% and Tom Barrett (D), 1,161,870 with 46% of 100% of precincts reporting.
In the Lt. Governor race, Lt. Governor Rebecca Kleefisch (R), received 1,300,184 votes or 53% and Mahlon Mitchell (D), 1,154,515 with 47% of 100% precincts reporting.
Walker became the first Governor to win and survive a recall election in the nations history. Democratic challenger Tom Barrett conceded early and called Walker to congratulate him.
Two Republican State Senators, Scott Fitzgerald and Terry Moulton who were being recall also won re-election and Jerry Patrowski who ran for the first time in a senate race also won.
All national news major outlets began reporting early that Walker had defeated Barrett at 53% of precincts reporting with merely less than a million votes counted in Wisconsin. As it turned out later, Walker and Kleefisch were re-elected.

Connected by MOTOBLUR™ on T-Mobile

No comments: