Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Sylvia Ortiz-Velez Defeats Incumbent Milwaukee County Supervisor Peggy West

Ortiz-Velez after unwarranted false claims by Voces de la Frontera Action (VDLFA) managed to defeat Supervisor West who VDLFA had endorsed.

By H. Nelson Goodson
Hispanic News Network U.S.A.

April 4, 2018

Milwaukee, WI - On Tuesday, constituents from the Milwaukee County Supervisor 12th District elected Sylvia Ortiz-Velez. Ortiz-Velez who received 815 votes 58% defeated the incumbent Supervisor Peggy West who received 602 votes 42%, according to the Milwaukee County Election Commission.
West has served 14 years as a Milwaukee County Supervisor. West was endorsed by multiple unions, and public elected officials including Congresswomen Gwen Moore (D-Milw.), Wisconsin State Representative JoCasta Zamarripa (D-Milw.), Milwaukee Alderman José Pérez and Christine Neumann-Ortiz, the executive director of Voces de la Frontera (VDLF) who in a desperate attempt to get West re-elected engaged in false claims against Ortiz-Velez, a paying member of VDLF. Ortiz-Velez campaigned under a "Fresh Start" theme and managed to oust West from office.
Electors in the Southside sent a message to the Milwaukee County Board that they wanted a fresh start and didn't take Neumann-Ortiz's false claims about Ortiz-Velez to likely and responded by electing Ortiz-Velez to the County Board.
During her victory speech at the Tres Hermanos Restaurant in the Southside, Ortiz-Velez thanked Carmen Cabrera, Luz Sosa, Victor Huyke, Marilyn Figueroa, Hector Colón, Rebecca Bahr-Arrichello, Gadibel Morales, Former Alderman Jim Witkowiak, Geary Morales, Dyango Zerpa and many others who supported her as well.

In other elections: Judge Rebecca Dallet was elected to the Wisconsin State Supreme Court. Also, 61% of voters on Tuesday throughout the state voted "No" to the question of eliminating the Office of State Treasurer.
Elected or re-elected Milwaukee County Supervisors are A. Lipscomb Sr. (I) - District 1; Felesia Martin -District 7; Steven Shea - District 8; Patti Logson -District 9; Sylvia Ortiz-Velez - District 12; Tony Staskunas (I) - District 17 and Deanna Alexander (I) - District 18.

No comments: