Monday, April 16, 2018

Milwaukee County Supervisor Sylvia Ortiz-Velez Takes Office Representing The 12th District Of The Board of Supervisors

Ortiz-Velez sworn-in as Milwaukee County Supervisor for District 12th.

By H. Nelson Goodson
Hispanic News Network U.S.A.

April 16, 2018

Milwaukee, WI - On Monday, Sylvia Ortiz-Velez was sworn-in as Milwaukee County Supervisor for District 12th during a ceremony at the Milwaukee County Board Room at the Milwaukee County Courthouse. Supervisors Ortiz-Velez, Patti Logsdon from the 9th District, Felesia Martin from the 7th District and Steven Shea from 8th District were all newly elected to the Board of Supervisors.
The incumbents re-elected to office were Deanna Alexander, 18th District; Eddie Cullen, 15th District; Marina Dimitrijevic, 4th District; Willie Johnson Jr., 13th District; Supreme Moore Omokunde, 10th District; James Schmitt, 6th District; Dan Sebring, 11th District; Anthony Staskunas, 17th District; Sheldon A. Wasserman, 3rd District and John F. Weishan Jr., 16th District were among other County Supervisors sworn into office.
Incumbents, Supervisor Theodore Lipscomb Sr. from the 1st District was voted as the Chairman, Supervisor Marcelia Nicholson from the 5th District was voted in as 1st Vice-Chair and Supervisor Sequana Taylor from the 2nd District was voted in as 2nd Vice-Chair for the Board of Supervisors. Lipscomb Sr., Nicholson and Taylor were also re-elected to office 
Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele, Milwaukee County Acting Sheriff Richard Schmidt, Wisconsin State Senator Chris Larson (D), newly Elect Wisconsin State Supreme Judge Rebecca Dallet and City of Milwaukee Election Commissioner Carmen C. Cabrera were also present at the swearing-in ceremony.
A reception to celebrate the election of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors for 2018 session to 2020 was held after the swearing-in ceremony.

No comments: