Monday, February 17, 2014

Ruiz To Seek 15th District Aldermanic Vacant Seat In Milwaukee

Patricia Ruiz

Ruiz announced she is a candidate for Alderwoman in the 15th District.

By H. Nelson Goodson
February 17, 2014

Milwaukee, WI - On Monday, Patricia Ruiz recently announced that she is a candidate for Alderwoman in the 15th Aldermanic District. If elected, she will replace former Alderman Willie L. Hines Jr. who resigned on Friday, January 31 and took a job the following Monday as associate director with the Milwaukee Housing Authority. 
Ruiz from La Luz del Mundo Family Services in her campaign website states, "Growing into a young woman in the city of Milwaukee, where I graduated from a Milwaukee Public High School, attended college at the University of Wisconsin in Whitewater.  I feel proud to have come home to the city of Milwaukee and give back to my community...As the Alderwoman for the 15th District of Milwaukee, I vow to be accessible to the people and the voice for all in my community.  I pledge to be present because I will be a public servant to my constituents and I am here to listen my communities concerns and find solutions."
So far, Vera Davis, with the Milwaukee Area Health Education Center; County Supervisor Russell Stamper II; former county supervisor Eyon Biddle Sr. and Deshea Agee, an economic development specialist with the Department of City Development have also shown interest to run for the vacant 15th Aldermanic District seat, according to the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. 
According to the Milwaukee Election Commission, nominations papers began circulating on February 11 and the dateline to submit them is March 4, 2014 by 5:00 p.m. 
Candidates need to turn in a minimum of 200 signatures or the maximum 400 just in case some are invalid signatures. If a candidate get less than 200, they will not be placed on the ballot. But they can run as write-in candidates. Write-in canidates need to notify the Milwaukee Election Commission of their intent to run. 
The primary election will be held on Apirl 1, 2014 and the special election will be held on April 29, 2014.

No comments: